It’s been 10 months since we moved to Colorado and began a new life.

I almost feel like this past year was similar to my freshman year of college where my parents dropped me off at my dorm after helping me unpack and headed back home, leaving me to a new life and plenty to figure out on my own.

When Alex and I first moved here, we encountered several challenges and at that point, we only had each other in the immediate vicinity lean on. In the past, I’ve had a community to advise me and bounce ideas off of and while my tribe is still very much in my life, it’s different when they’re 500+ miles away.

Signing a lease while living in an extended stay, finding our way around a new city, meeting new people, utilizing a new public transportation system…moving for a second time due to flooding….it was a scary/exciting way to spend a year. I learned how to schedule movers, navigate through unfamiliar streets (both geographically and metaphorically), and make new friends. I’m grateful for every second of my time here thus far. I’ve learned to see challenges as ways to make myself grow and become even better. They have taught me to never give up.

I would tell those who find themselves in similar situations to be open and say yes more than no. Know that you’ll make mistakes (tons of them) but if you learn from them and keep forging again, nothing will be able to stop you.

Xoxo

kS

Leave a comment