I’m all about adventures, little or small.

Not spontaneous adventures, mind you. Mine are always very calculated and planned down even to the snacks that are being brought along. But they are adventures, nonetheless.

Yesterday’s small adventure involved me taking the #25 bus from Academy and Kelley Johnson Blvd to the downtown terminal, exactly .8 of a mile from where my running group meets on Saturdays.

The night before, I packed everything I’d need in my camelbak (minus the water bladder): Food (peanut butter oat balls), debit card, ID, portable phone battery and charger cable, keys, chap stick and headphones. The rest of my running gear was laid alongside it so that I could easily grab all of it in the morning.

032fc7e3-1735-4b91-85b0-349bce740839

Early Saturday morning, during some pre bus ride miles, I stopped by the ATM to withdraw cash and took the cash by Starbucks to buy something small in order to make change because bus far has to be exact. When I say that, I mean you won’t get change for a $5 or $10 and they sure as heck don’t take a credit card. I find this policy charming and slightly inconvenient but I roll with it.

img_3884

 

img_3845img_3860img_3859

A few people were already on the bus when I got on. More and more joined throughout the ride; bleary eyed and silent, settling in for however long their intended ride was going to be.

My ride took an hour (we live on the very northern tip of Colorado Springs) and I reached the downtown terminal around 715am. My group meets between 745am-8am so I was able to get in a few more miles while I waited.

img_3883

The group that met yesterday was much smaller than usual due to the fact that a race (part of the Winter Series) was going on in Black Forest, CO. Small but mighty.

img_3885

Afterwards, like always, we sat and enjoyed coffee together before embarking on the rest of Saturday. My friend E. graciously gave me a ride to the bus terminal where I caught the #5 bus back home.

img_3849

Yes, this adventure took a lot of planning and contained a lot of steps. But I ended the trip feeling like it had been successful and I’d do it again in a heartbeat. Early mornings, people watching, miles with friends, and coffee. Some of my very favorite things. 😉

XOXOX
KS

Leave a comment